Jornal da Mostra

21 de outubro de 2021

Beatriz Seigner, Carla Caffé and Joel Zito Araújo form the 45ª Mostra’s Jury

Juri da 45ª Mostra
Juri da 45ª Mostra

The São Paulo International Film Festival awards the Bandeira Paulista Trophy to filmmakers who make their first or second feature films. In 2021, 108 feature films that integrate the New Directors Competition compete for the award.

During the first week of screenings, the public will be able to vote on the films that compete for the Trophy - both in face-to-face sessions and in virtual sessions of the Mostra. From the total number of films that make up the Competition, those with the best votes by the public will be selected.

The works with the best ratings will be presented to the Jury, which will evaluate and choose the winning features of the Bandeira Paulista Trophy —a creation by artist Tomie Ohtake— in the best film category. The Jury can also award works in other categories.

The Jury for this 45th Mostra is composed by filmmaker Beatriz Seigner, art director and architect Carla Caffé and filmmaker Joel Zito Araújo. Learn more about each of them.

The Jury has awarded prizes to directors such as Iranian Jafar Panahi (The White Balloon, 19th Mostra, 1995), French Bruno Dumont (The Life of Jesus, 21st Mostra, 1997), Danish Thomaz Vinterberg (The Celebration, 22nd Mostra, 1998) ), the Mexican Alejandro González Iñárritu (Amores Perros, 24th Mostra, 2000) and the Brazilian Marcelo Gomes for Cinema, Aspirinas e Urubus (29th Mostra, 2005).

Recently awarded works include Eyimofe, by Arie Esiri and Chuko Esiri, 17 Blocks, by Davy Rothbart, Honeyland, by Ljubomir Stefanov and Tamara Kotevska, Babyteeth, by Shannon Murphy, System Crasher, by Nora Fingscheidt, ¡Las Sandinistas!, by Jenny Murray, Ariana’s Pact, by Lissette Orozco, El Amparo, by Rober Calzadilla, Sparrows, by Rúnar Rúnarsson.