Four Chapters (2008)

Sobre o filme

Set in the early years of the twentieth century, it is a tale of young, idealistic minds and their loves fatally caught in a twilight zone, between the darkness of superstition and the blinding light of a cold and distant enlightenment. It is a story of what we were and how we came to be. The film centers around three main characters: Sachish, Sribilash and Damini (the young widow). The unrestful threesome does not know a destination at this point, nor can they resolve their mutual triangle of desire in accordance with either social law or divine dictum. Nevertheless, the film reveals that any attempt to harness the spirit of human nature, any effort to negate the undefined areas of our inner world only exposes the holes in the ideological models. Therefore, Four Chapters proposes an unending journey, timeless quest.

Título original: Chaturanga

Ano: 2008

Duração: 133 minutos

País: India

Cor: color, 35mm


Roteiro: Suman Mukhopadhyay

Fotografia: Indranil Mukherjee

Elenco: Rituparna Sengupta, Subrat Dutta, Joy Sengupta

Produtor: Avik Saha

Música: Debjyoti Mishra